

## **PRESS STATEMENT**

The Ports Regulator is the independent national economic regulator for the South African ports, governed by the National Ports Act, 12 of 2005. In terms of section 30(1) and (2) of the Act, the main functions of the Regulator, consisting of the full complement of non-executive members, are to-

- Exercise economic regulation for the ports system in line with government's strategic objectives;
- Promote equity of access to ports and to facilities and services provided in ports;
- iii) Monitor the activities of the National Ports Authority to ensure that it performs its functions in accordance with the Act; and
- iv) Hear appeals and complaints brought to the Regulator as well as investigate complaints contemplated in terms of the Act.

The Ports Regulator wishes to inform all port stakeholders and the public in general that six new non-executive Members to the Ports Regulator of South Africa were formally announced in the Cabinet statement of 28 August 2015 and four existing non-executive Members whose extended 3 year term of office expired at the end of August 2015, have been reappointed.

The following Members have been appointed for a three year term with effect from 1 September 2015, as itemised in the GCIS Cabinet Statement of the Cabinet meeting dated 26 August 2015, as follows:

- 8.4. Non-executive members appointed to the Ports Regulator:
- a) Mr Thaba Mufamadi (Chairperson);
- b) Ms Anjue Hirachund;
- c) Mr Riad Khan;
- d) Mr Lindelwe Mabandla;
- e) Ms Gerdileen Taylor;
- f) Adv. Gugulethu Abigail Thimane;
- g) Ms Patricia Ntombizodwa Mazibuko (re-appointment);
- h) Mr Aubrey Bongani Ngcobo (re-appointment);
- i) Ms Thato Abegail Tsautse (re-appointment); and
- j) Mr Andile Mahlalutye (re-appointment).

Professor Didibhuku Thwala (non-executive member), whose first term has not expired and Mahesh Fakir (ex-officio member) remain Members, bringing the total number of Regulator Members to twelve.

We express our gratitude to Cabinet and the Minister, Hon. Dipuo Peters, MP for the appointments which expand the capacity of the Ports Regulator to better execute its mandate in terms of the National Ports Acts, and better serve the port community, stakeholders and the public at large.

We welcome the new Chairperson, Mr Thaba Mufamadi, together with the newly appointed Members as well as those Members who have been re-appointed. We wish them all the very best over their three year term of office.

We further wish to thank our outgoing Chair, Mrs Gloria Serobe', for her leadership since inception of the Regulator and her tireless efforts over two terms of office, to ensure that the organisation was established, and that it is run with integrity, sound values, respect for the rule of law and good governance. Madame we thank you for your counsel, guidance and expert stewardship of the Ports Regulator over the years, and for the legacy that you leave with us. We salute you and wish you well in all your future endeavours!

Mr Mahesh Fakir
Chief Executive Officer
The Ports Regulator of South Africa